The 2008 Cormack Innovation Awards held at Customs House, Sydney received a high quality field of finalists, showcasing the talents of third year industrial design students from local universities.

Judges were impressed with the identification of problems with existing packaging and the innovative solutions to address them, with this year’s entries among the best ever.

Cormack Packaging Managing Director, Mathew Cormack, said "innovation in packaging was very important across the cosmetics, pharmaceutical, food & beverage, household, chemical, automotive and hardware sectors."

Unusually, all three of this year’s placegetters were from the University of Technology, Sydney. However, other entries were received from students from University of NSW and RMIT, Melbourne.

In announcing the winners, Mr Cormack praised the standard of all entries, the strong participation of universities and the contribution of industry judges in the annual awards - aimed at encouraging innovation.

The winner from a “very close” top three designs was Damien Azzopardi of the University of Technology, Sydney with his “Powderade” measured powder dispenser. According to the judges the winning entry met all the requirements of the design brief for an integrated pack and closure device which delivers a measured portion.

The winning design provided a convenient approach to dosing powders which was ergonomic and manufacturable – clearly showing the assembly of components and how they work together. “Damien showed a good choice of target market, yet the package is versatile and also considered other markets. His design enables one handed operation, considers refilling different size drink containers - unlike the current package - and is refillable and recyclable.”

Second place was awarded to Thomas Hussey for his laundry liquid pump pack which was selected for its simplicity of use, outstanding shelf presence and the way the product identified an actual existing problem and addressed it better than existing designs.

Third place was awarded to Bhaven Chauhan’s Quantum Control Cap, which included child proof and tamper evident packaging with a true dosing device to eliminate error when measuring and mixing powders with liquids such as antibiotic medicines, sports drinks or baby formula.

Highly commended awards were shared by James Morton of University of NSW for a children’s paracetamol doser, Christian Alonzo of UTS for a hair cream dispenser and Kristina Zlomislic also of UNSW for a crème bleach mixer/applicator bottle.

A special thank you to the judges for this year’s awards, Richard Eckart of Sigma Pharmaceuticals, Utra Sharma of Selleys Yates and Helene Francois of Unilever Australasia.


The Winning University UTS

L-R Rowen Wagner (Lecturer), Thomas Hussey (2nd Place), Stephen Neil (lecturer), Damien Azzopardi (Winner), Christian Alonzo (HC), Bhaven Chauhan (3rd Place), Cathy Lockhart (Lecturer)


Highly Commended

L-R: Mathew Cormack (MD), Christian Alonzo (UTS), Kristina Zlomislic (UNSW), James Morton (UNSW).


Thanks to the Judges

L-R: Mathew Cormack (MD), Richard Eckhart (Sigma Pharmaceuticals), Utra Sharma (Selleys Yates) and Ronald Cornelisse on behalf of Helene Francois (Unilever)

For more information on the Innovation Awards visit our website or call Rosa McLean on (02) 97078017